Dear developers,
I used version-4.3.2 to calculate a 2D system. The calculation of chi is OK and after that the sigma stopped with
"
P0006: NULL parallel world for CPU#1
P0006: [ERROR] STOP signal received while in :[07] Bare local and non-local Exchange-Correlation
P0006: [ERROR]USER parallel structure does not fit the current run parameters. 72 CPU for 48 elements (ROLE is 'b'"
in the log file. The same system has been tested with 32 cores and the results are OK but now for 72 cores, it does not work.
Below is the input of the 2D system:
X_all_q_CPU= "1 1 1 72 1" # [PARALLEL] CPUs for each role
X_all_q_ROLEs= "q g k c v" # [PARALLEL] CPUs roles (q,g,k,c,v)
X_all_q_nCPU_LinAlg_INV= 1 # [PARALLEL] CPUs for Linear Algebra
SE_CPU= "1 1 72" # [PARALLEL] CPUs for each role
SE_ROLEs= "q qp b" # [PARALLEL] CPUs roles (q,qp,b)
Thanks!
SD
Error in calculating sigma
Moderators: Davide Sangalli, andrea.ferretti, myrta gruning, andrea marini, Daniele Varsano
-
- Posts: 299
- Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:30 pm
- Daniele Varsano
- Posts: 4198
- Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: Error in calculating sigma
Dear Shudong,
it seems you are using more CPU than available bands in your calculation.
Can you post your entire input and report?
Best,
Daniele
it seems you are using more CPU than available bands in your calculation.
Can you post your entire input and report?
Best,
Daniele
Dr. Daniele Varsano
S3-CNR Institute of Nanoscience and MaX Center, Italy
MaX - Materials design at the Exascale
http://www.nano.cnr.it
http://www.max-centre.eu/
S3-CNR Institute of Nanoscience and MaX Center, Italy
MaX - Materials design at the Exascale
http://www.nano.cnr.it
http://www.max-centre.eu/
-
- Posts: 299
- Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:30 pm
Re: Error in calculating sigma
Dear Daniele,
Thanks for your reply.
Attach are the input, log and report.
If as you said I used more cores than the occupied bands, how should I give the paralell option for my system?
Thanks!
Best
Shudong
Thanks for your reply.
Attach are the input, log and report.
If as you said I used more cores than the occupied bands, how should I give the paralell option for my system?
Thanks!
Best
Shudong
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- Daniele Varsano
- Posts: 4198
- Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: Error in calculating sigma
Dear Shudong,
the problem is in the calculation of the exchange part of the self energy where only occupied states are considered (44 states) so you cannot assign 72 cpus on bands.
By setting:
or
it should work without any loss of performance.
Best,
Daniele
the problem is in the calculation of the exchange part of the self energy where only occupied states are considered (44 states) so you cannot assign 72 cpus on bands.
By setting:
Code: Select all
SE_CPU= "1 2 36" # [PARALLEL] CPUs for each role
SE_ROLEs= "q qp b"
Code: Select all
SE_CPU= "1 4 16" # [PARALLEL] CPUs for each role
SE_ROLEs= "q qp b"
Best,
Daniele
Dr. Daniele Varsano
S3-CNR Institute of Nanoscience and MaX Center, Italy
MaX - Materials design at the Exascale
http://www.nano.cnr.it
http://www.max-centre.eu/
S3-CNR Institute of Nanoscience and MaX Center, Italy
MaX - Materials design at the Exascale
http://www.nano.cnr.it
http://www.max-centre.eu/
-
- Posts: 299
- Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:30 pm
Re: Error in calculating sigma
Thanks Daniele. I will try it.
Ciao
Shudong
Ciao
Shudong