Excitonic wave-functions. How to deal with them?

Run-time issues concerning Yambo that are not covered in the above forums.

Moderators: myrta gruning, andrea marini, Daniele Varsano, Conor Hogan

Maxos

Excitonic wave-functions. How to deal with them?

Post by Maxos » Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:46 am

Dear all,

I'm new to Yambo and to be fair I haven't still been able to install it correctly and go through the tutorials but I figured I could ask a couple of general questions. Also I'm a particle physicist so I know barely anything about solid state. :)

What I aim to do is to compute the transition rate from the ground state of a semiconductor (cooled to cryogenic temps, say around 10mK or a little warmer) to some state around the very bottom of the conduction band, where the free excitonic states (I think) dominate in density. This transition should be brought about, say, by scattering with a photon or an electron or any point particle able to do so.

The idea I have to get about doing this involves calculating the wave-functions of the discrete and continuum exciton system and compute matrix elements of the interaction chosen between the ground state and the excitonic state.

So I have 2 questions, or 3:

0) Does this make sense?
1) Can YAMBO compute wave functions of the exciton states both discrete and continuum? (I assume it can but I wanna make sure)
2) Does it make sense to sandwich between ground state and exciton state? I'm worried that the exciton state is gonna be a two-particle state and I'd be using a one particle language for the ground state... How do people go about computing these transitions? (i.e. theoretical absorption rates into free exciton states)

Thank you very much and I hope I'm posting in the right section!
Andrea Massari
Physics PhD Candidate
YITP - Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY, USA

Daniele Varsano

Re: Excitonic wave-functions. How to deal with them?

Post by Daniele Varsano » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:06 am

Dear Andrea,