Drude term and non-metal

Deals with issues related to computation of optical spectra in reciprocal space: RPA, TDDFT, local field effects.

Moderators: Davide Sangalli, andrea.ferretti, myrta gruning, andrea marini, Daniele Varsano, Conor Hogan

hongtang2023

Drude term and non-metal

Post by hongtang2023 » Sat Dec 09, 2023 8:58 am

Dear Yambo team,

I know it sounds wired that for a gapped system (non-metal) one tries to include a Drude term.
Since it shows " [WARNING] System is not a metal. Drude term not included " .

However, can I force to include a Drude term for a small gap system ?

Or Can I just change the Fermi level to the conduction bands in the Yambo code input? by using filling or occupation factors? If so, please let me what tags I need to look at?

Thanks very much!

Best,
Hong
Dr. Hong Tang
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA
70118, USA

hongtang2023

Re: Drude term and non-metal

Post by hongtang2023 » Sun Dec 10, 2023 8:56 pm

Dear Yambo team,

I am studying this topic by myself.

1. Can I use " Nelectro " tag to raise the Fermi level of a semiconductor to mimic the electron doping effect to this semiconductor? Say if my semiconductor system has 18 valence electrons neutrally, then I set Nelectro=18.5 to mimic adding 0.5 electrons in the supercell. Is this OK?
If I do this, Yambo will ignore the occupation or filling status from the quantum espresso results, and Yambo will recalculate the occupation or filling for those bands affected, is this correct?

2. If I do so, how about the tag "ElecTemp " ? Is "ElecTemp" only for the occupation or filling around the Fermi level? If I set both ElecTemp and Nelectro, then Yambo will first raise the Fermilevel and then calculates the occupation or filling for those states just around the new Fermi level. Is this correct?