yambo calculate the exciton lifetime

Anything regarding the post-processing utility (e.g. excitonic wavefunction analysis) is dealt with in this forum.

Moderators: Davide Sangalli, andrea marini, Daniele Varsano

Quxiao

yambo calculate the exciton lifetime

Post by Quxiao » Sat Mar 27, 2021 10:44 pm

Dear friends:
I am a novice who use yambo to calculate the character of exciton,recently ,i have a question about calculating the lifetime of exciton.
The formulate calculate the lifetime in an article:Ab initio calculations of exciton radiative lifetimes in bulk crystals, nanostructures, and molecules.
In that article,i know that Rs2D(0) as the recombination rate for Q=0,Rs2D(0)=((e^2)*(Ps^2))/[(8.854187817 × 10-12)*(m^2)*c*A*Es(0)].
the m is the quality of electron,the permittivity of vacuum is t0=8.854187817 × 10-12,c is the spead of light,A is the area of the system in the xy plane,e is the electron charge,Es(0) is the exciton energy,Ps is the exciton transition dipole. So I want to know how to calculate the Ps by using yambo.
In addition,i have read another article:Exciton Radiative Lifetimes in Two-Dimensional Transition Metal Dichalcogenides.the recombination rate for Q =0,could be expressed as :(8*Π*(e^2)*Es(0)*Us^2)/((h/2Π)*c*A),Us^2 is the square modulus of the BSE exciton transition dipole divided by the number of unit cells in 2D in the system.(i.e., the number of 2D k-points employed in the calculation),so how to calculate the Us^2?

what is the relation between exciton transition dipole and the strenth in the document which called ~.exc_E_sorted?
Thanks for your read,please help me to understand that.
I hope you are well and in good health!
Best wishes!
Quxiao
Quxiao in BIT,calculate the exciton

Palummo Maurizia
Location: Dipartimento di Fisica Universita' Tor Vergata Roma

Re: yambo calculate the exciton lifetime

Post by Palummo Maurizia » Sun Mar 28, 2021 5:53 pm

Dear Qxiao