Configure found precompiler problems

Having trouble compiling the Yambo source? Using an unusual architecture? Problems with the "configure" script? Problems in GPU architectures? This is the place to look.

Moderators: Davide Sangalli, andrea.ferretti, myrta gruning, andrea marini, Daniele Varsano, Conor Hogan, Nicola Spallanzani

Forum rules
If you have trouble compiling Yambo, please make sure to list:
(1) the compiler (vendor and release: e.g. intel 10.1)
(2) the architecture (e.g. 64-bit IBM SP5)
(3) if the problems occur compiling in serial/in parallel
(4) the version of Yambo (revision number/major release version)
(5) the relevant compiler error message
Post Reply
shenghle
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:02 pm

Configure found precompiler problems

Post by shenghle » Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:03 pm

Hi All,

How to compile the code using gfortran? It seems that the default configure cannot detect the gfortran compiler as

checking if precompiler works on F90 source... no
configure: error: Found precompiler problems in processing the F90/C source.

Thanks,
SL

User avatar
myrta gruning
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:38 am
Contact:

Re: Compiling error

Post by myrta gruning » Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:37 pm

Hallo Shenghui

If the gfortran compiler is in the path it is usually recognized automatically.
To be sure you can try to specify the compiler. You can look at several examples of setup:
http://www.yambo-code.org/download/compiling.php
in general

Code: Select all

./configure --help
Gives you all the options.

In case the problem persists please upload the config.log. It is difficult to understand just from the error message

Furthermore, can you please fill in the signature in your profile? It is a forum-rule. Thanks!

Best,
Myrta
Dr Myrta Grüning
School of Mathematics and Physics
Queen's University Belfast - Northern Ireland

http://www.researcherid.com/rid/B-1515-2009

User avatar
Daniele Varsano
Posts: 3878
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Compiling error

Post by Daniele Varsano » Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:17 pm

Dear Shengie,
the error you have it seems to be related to the precompiler and not to the fortran compiler.
As Myrta suggested, have a look to the options (configure -h) and probably you will need to assign the precompiler command.
In general, please post all the useful files (here config.log) that can be useful to spot the probem.
Best,
Daniele
Dr. Daniele Varsano
S3-CNR Institute of Nanoscience and MaX Center, Italy
MaX - Materials design at the Exascale
http://www.nano.cnr.it
http://www.max-centre.eu/

User avatar
myrta gruning
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:38 am
Contact:

Re: Configure found precompiler problems

Post by myrta gruning » Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:07 pm

Dear Shengui

I split the topic as indeed your problem is with the precompiler, not related with previous posts in the topic.
Which gcc are you using?
It seems that there may be problems related to the new preprocessor behaviour.

Let us know
Myrta
Dr Myrta Grüning
School of Mathematics and Physics
Queen's University Belfast - Northern Ireland

http://www.researcherid.com/rid/B-1515-2009

Post Reply